What do you think of the rules for Colossals and Gargantuans?

There are my favorite models in the game but I am new to Warmachine.

1 Like

They are in an interesting place. They are expensive but strong pieces.
Some casters and lists run them better than others do. An Infantry centric caster for example won’t want them as much as one that has more battlegroup focused abilities.

I like mine. Seems like they’ll be fun to play since they all have bulldoze and loads of strong weapons.

I am glad that they were streamlined this edition. I am glad that Sweep and Power Strike are gone, considering I could count on one hand the number of times I used both of those attacks combined. :slight_smile:

My only, only regret is that Conquest’s main guns are still ROF 1 despite having two barrels. :stuck_out_tongue:

(That’s not really a complaint. I’ve just always found that amusing.)

This is interesting to me because in previous editions you would get times where an infantry caster who has maybe a single cohort buff like Superiority might take a colossal to quickly hit their battlegroup points and have a strong target for their single spell. I know there were Issyria and Ravyn lists for a while that would take a single Hyperion as the prime target for Ancillary Attack or Open Fire while the rest of the list would be infantry.

With battlegroup points changing to minimum cohort model count and colossals not counting as more than 1 model it definitely seems to push them more to the realm of dedicated battlegroup-centric casters.

1 Like

Yeah. In a 75 points game you are sinking around half your points into a Colossal (~27 points) and a 6 point light.
That’s a lot there.

Can’t you take colossals at 100+ points only?
The Warmachine App don’t let me add a colossals at 75pt or smaller lists.

Edit: the rulebook forbids colossals explicit at 50pt and smaller but not for 75pt, so this could be a bug.

that’s a known bug for 75-point games.

2 Likes