Structures and Electroleaps

This came up in our game Friday night, and I’m guessing it’s something the designers never even considered. A unit of Winter Korps Snipers had taken up a position atop a guard tower, and I started shooting at them. The question is - if there’s an electroleap, where does it go? If the shot hits a model inside the guard tower, does the leap go to the closest model in the tower or to the tower itself? What would happen if the only model in range was on a different floor? How about a model outside the tower? Can an elecroleap that hits a model outside the tower leap to a model inside the tower? What if I shoot the tower itself? Does the leap then go to a model inside? Are models inside just totally immune to electroleaps?

There’s a lot of clarification needed on this one.

I’ll take the case!

Here’s what Electro Leap does:

Here’s one relevant portion from the Building rules. This explains how to target the models inside from a model outside:

Please note that this says nothing about how to measure distances between models inside a building. Therefore, the standard rules for measuring distances between models apply.

Here’s some specific information about the Guard Tower:

So, models must be physically placed inside the Guard Tower. Because no rule tells us otherwise, models are positioned exactly where they are physically positioned inside the Guard Tower. They are where they really are.

I suspect your confusion stems from this particular rule in the Building rules:

Note that this rule tells you a special way how AOEs interact with models in a Building. It does not say anything that otherwise contradicts the standard rules for models being positioned, so the standard rules still apply.

So, wrapping it all up, to answer your questions:

The Electro Leap arcs to the nearest model within 3". This will almost certainly be a model on the same floor.