So im just trying to clarify if this is how this would work. As a Khador player playing Borisyuk and his feat allows you to make a free basic range or melee attack if another model in his battlegroup kills something. If I have a great bear equipped with a Grinder, that has RoF 2d3, does it get 2d3 shots or is it just one shot?
Same question with Volkovas Ancillary attack? Is it just one shot or all 2d3 shots?
Here’s what the rules say:
The number of initial attacks a model can make with this ranged weapon during its activation.
EXAMPLE: The Dozer on Khador’s Great Bear has ROF 2. When a Great Bear makes ranged attacks with a Dozer during its activation, it can make two attacks. The Orgoth Tyrant’s Quad Bolt Thrower has ROF d3+1. When the Tyrant’s controlling player declares the warjack is going to make ranged attacks with a Quad Bolt Thrower, that player first rolls a d3+1 and then can make up to the number of attacks indicated.
Note that this says “initial attacks.” Initial attacks are, essentially, the free attacks you get with the weapon each activation.
Here’s the relevant part of Borisyuk’s feat:
The feat allows you to make a
basic attack (which is any attack that is not a special attack or power attack), but it does not say to make your initial attacks.
So, the Great Bear with the Grinder can make one single basic attack, for free, not counted against ROF/initial attacks, as a result of Borisyuk’s feat.
Here’s the relevant part of Ancillary Attack:
So, again, you get a basic attack, but not initial attacks, so you get to make only one additional attack, for free, not counted against your ROF/initial attacks.