New start on a campaign, different take, help appreciated

Ok so while I have been a fan of Warmachine and the RPG side for a while now I haven’t really had a chance to play or run a campaign since 2015. I used to collect all the faction books just for the lore and the stories and all that fun stuff. I have gotten all the current books for the Requiem and I am super excited to dive back into it. How important is the current lore to follow? I not had the funds or time to get into MkIV (I was in the military and single when I played more, now I am a full time teacher, married and have two kids, so my free time is rarer now), Is there some way to get access to the lore of the Eternal Empire of Dusk? My group has decided that one of the characters is going to be a soulless who has the ultimate goal of making himself a soul and to be connected to House Kallyss. Darker than I expected but I am really excited to dive into the nature of souls in this game. What are anyone’s thoughts? Is there any material I should really look into?

2 Likes

Requiem takes place about 5 years before the Mk4 storyline and all the lore you need to cover the gap between Mk3 and Requiem is in Requiem itself.

Soulless and Dusk lore specifically is covered in the Borderlands & Beyond expansion for Requiem.

1 Like

Oh I thought it was concurrent but Requiem is before Mk4? That i didn’t know. Does Borderlands & Beyond have Dusk equipment too?

Requiem is set in roughly 617 AR. That is 5 years after the infernal war but 5 years before the Orgoth invasion where MK IV starts.

As SaltTitan mentioned, you should download the Warmachine App and subscribe to get access to all the lore. If you were around way back when, then essentially think of the app subscription as getting a No Quarter each month. :slight_smile: It’s definitely worth it!

1 Like