Oblivion Configuration (Orion) interaction with Magic Bullet and Direct Current (or, Abilities that add additional dice to non-attack damage rolls )

Bottom line: Does the damage roll from an ability that is not an attack come from the attacking model, meaning the damage roll would be affected by abilities that affect that model’s damage roll?

Background:
Oblivion Configuration gives friendly faction models an additional die on their damage rolls against enemy models in Orion’s control range that have 1 or more essence, focus, or fury points.

Oblivion configuration does not say models gain an additional die on their attack damage rolls… just damage rolls.

Magic Bullet causes a chosen model within 4 inches of a model hit by an attack to suffer an unboostable POW 12 magical damage roll. The point of origin for this damage is the model hit. This damage is not considered to have been caused by an attack.

Direct Current says that models intersected by a line between the center of the attacking model and the model directly hit suffer an unboostable POW 10 electrical damage roll, not considered to have been caused by an attack.

To compare, Collateral damage says it cannot be boosted, and is not considered to be damage from an attack or model. While these other abilities just say it’s not an attack, they don’t say it’s not damage from a model.

Bottom line: Did the damage roll from an ability that is not an attack come from the attacking model, meaning the damage roll would be affected by abilities that affect a model’s damage roll?

Implications:

  1. Does the Magic Bullet damage roll gain the additional die of damage?
  2. Does the Direct Current damage roll gain the additional die of damage?
  3. Does Weathering the Storm (Captain Athena di Baro) affect the above?
  4. Would Marionette affect the above (Special ability, Eilish Garrity, among others)
1 Like

In earlier editions, things that added to damage rolls without specifying attack damage rolls did affect all sorts of non-attack things, including weird stuff like the Berserker’s explosion. There were some rules that were worded in a way that they did not originate from the model, and as such did not receive the buff either.

I would assume that unless a rule specifies that the damage roll does not originate from the model with the rule, it gains the buffs.

4 Likes

I like this interpretation, as it is the simplest approach.

Hey, if this is a simple Yes, like @Kapoteeni and I think, then this can get locked.