Preamble: I appreciate robust discussion as much as anybody, but I’m looking for an offical response, not how one’s local meta plays it or what somebody read in a retweeted screenshot of a Facebook comment posted to Discord.
I thought this had been cleared up last year, but can’t seem to find anything definitive and the rule book still has contradictory information.
Simply put, can extra large based (80mm) models gain the DEF bonus from:
The rules exceprts below are contradictory or fail to mention extra large models entirely.
The inconsistency in e.g. how cover works between ranged and arcane attacks seems to imply a copy/paste or editing error when extra large bases were introduced. So yeah, needs not just an official response, but fixing the rules text.
I asked a rules expert who plays via TTS on our local meta’s Facebook Discord and they clearly state that those models can get the bonuses as long as you don’t actually put the models on a base, because if the model isn’t even on a base then it isn’t on a 80mm base and the rule can’t prevent it.
(sorry, couldn’t resist)
Checking to see which way it should be
Interesting, I could see it going either way, but I think it would make sense to not have bonuses from cover as they are just so large. Concealment makes sense because fog obscures all sorts of stuff.
If extra large don’t get defensive bonuses then they should probably get things like cant be pushed, no knockdown, no stationary, etc.
There should be some sort of trade off like there are with huge bases.
Hey, just checking in to see if there’s an update on this.
Still waiting on internal discussion
For the communities context the ruling for iron gauntlet finals was that they do not get concealment or cover. PP staff at the event said that the final decision would be part of the January update
Why not concealment? Thats not in the rulebook at all?