Critical smite rules…

Brickhouse’s power maul has critical smite, which reads

Firstly I’d like to know if the damage roll should use the POW of the weapon or follow the same rules as power attacks? The entry specifies collateral damage using the POW of the weapon but not the damage roll. The hammersmith has chain attack smite which specifies both damage and collateral damage use the weapons POW.

Second question is if the above works with the “gladiator” ability? Gladiator grants +2 to power attack damage rolls and power attack collateral damage rolls. The smite ability is not a power attack although it uses the slam rules from the power attack section. The wording left me wanting clarification to reassure me whether the bonus should apply or not?

1 Like

The attack is not a Power Attack and would resolve damage on the initial target as normal. It has an additional effect of a Slam and clarifies the damage for that as not being the normal Slam damage.

1 Like

The “Slammed” effect is separate from Power Attack: Slam, which is just one method of inflicting the Slammed effect.

1 Like